North American Network Operators Group
Date Prev | Date Next |
Date Index |
Thread Index |
Author Index |
Historical
Re: whois breakage
- From: Jay Stewart
- Date: Tue Oct 24 12:43:51 2000
This looks like some cute host registration trickery on the part of
terrorists.net. I'm amused, and sorry I didn't think of this myself.
Jay Stewart
Internet Network Engineer
Olympia Networking Services - "The Northwest's Premier ISP"
A wholly owned subsidiary of Advanced TelCom Group, Inc.
-=-=-=-=-
>whois 170.1.75.143
[disclaimer pablum removed]
Server Name: MICROSOFT.COM.IS.SECRETLY.RUN.BY.ILLUMINATI.TERRORISTS.NET
IP Address: 170.1.75.143
Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, INC.
Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
Referral URL: www.networksolutions.com
[snip]
----- Original Message -----
From: "Joshua Goodall" <joshua@roughtrade.net>
To: <nanog@nanog.org>
Sent: Tuesday, October 24, 2000 12:27 PM
Subject: whois breakage
$ whois -h whois.internic.net microsoft.com
Whois Server Version 1.3
Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.SECRETLY.RUN.BY.ILLUMINATI.TERRORISTS.NET
MICROSOFT.COM
Enough said. Similar for apple.com. The web-based whois client at
nsiregistry.com is giving correct results, as are the gtld-servers, as
does -h networksolutions.com
FreeBSD and at least one release of Linux I've tested query
whois.internic.net by default. If anyone is using automated whois in
production (very likely), check your results!
J
|