North American Network Operators Group
Date Prev | Date Next |
Date Index |
Thread Index |
Author Index |
Historical
Re: more anti-networksolutions propaganda
- From: Chris Cappuccio
- Date: Fri Apr 21 12:44:49 2000
You are wrong. NetSol is *Selling* access to the whois records,
paying customers get a login and password to whoisftp.networksolutions.com
!!!
On Fri, 21 Apr 2000, Rodney L Caston wrote:
|
| I wouldn't put the blame 'directly' on NA for this one, many groups have
| taken it upon themsleves to mine the whois database of NS. I won't name
| names cause at certain times a few major ISPs have done it as well.
| Regardless, spam is spam, and there isn't a good way to prevent people
| from mining the NS database. other then to ditch contact info on the
| records, which would be... silly.
|
| Rodney Caston
| SBC Internet Services
|
|
| On Fri, 21 Apr 2000, deeann mikula wrote:
|
| >
| >
| > this is more of a questions for the domain-masters out there, but has
| > anyone noticed a proliferation of spam to their contact addresses for
| > their domains hosted at NS?
| >
| > we have an address used *specifically* for admin and tech contacts for
| > all domains hosted by us. it is NOT a personal email addy. it
| > couldnt have been picked up from newsgroups, online forms, etc., but
| > ONLY appears in our domain records.
| >
| > i've been the recipient of that address for about 1.5 years, yet i've
| > only seen spam come into this address in the past 2 months or so.
| > i'm talking about like 10/day!
| >
| > did i miss something about network solutions selling off their
| > database of email addresses?
| >
| > deeann m.m. mikula
| >
| > telerama public access internet
| > director of operations
| > http://www.telerama.com
| >
| >
| >
|
|
|
---
Reverend Chris Cappuccio
http://www.dqc.org/~chris/
|