Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

Re: Spamcop Blocks Facebook?

  • From: Seth Mattinen
  • Date: Fri Feb 26 13:05:12 2010

On 2/26/10 9:56 AM, Bob Poortinga wrote:
> Shon Elliott <shon@unwiredbb.com> writes:
> 
>> Feb 25 19:08:18 postfix/smtpd[12682]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from
>> outmail011.snc1.tfbnw.net[69.63.178.170]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable;
>> host [69.63.178.170] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see
>> http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.63.178.170;
> 
> Using the Spamcop BL *solely* as the basis for rejecting mail is a sure way
> to lose wanted email.  From Spamcop's website:
> 
> "... SpamCop encourages use of the SCBL in concert with an actively maintained
>  whitelist of wanted email senders. SpamCop encourages SCBL users to tag and
>  divert email, rather than block it outright."
> 
> "The SCBL is aggressive and often errs on the side of blocking mail...
>  Many mailservers operate with blacklists in a "tag only" mode, which
>  is preferable in many situations."
> 
> IMO, the best use of the SCBL is as a scoring metric with Spam Assassin.
> Additional discussion should be directed to SPAM-L.
> 


In the early days of spamcop I'd agree with you unconditionally, but
over the years they've become much better to the point where I'd argue
it's suitable for blocking. In the case of Facebook it certainly is; if
they're is feeding spamtraps with enough volume to merit a listing then
it is wholeheartedly deserved.

~Seth





Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.