Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

Re: What DNS Is Not

  • From: Mark Andrews
  • Date: Thu Nov 19 21:03:55 2009

In message <20091119225005.v3lcpv1k9kwok4oo@fcaglp.fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar>, "Eduardo A. =?iso-8859-1?b?U3XhcmV6?=" writes:
> Hi,
> 
> Quoting Scott Weeks <surfer@mauigateway.com>:
> 
> >> From AUSNOG:
> >
> >
> > On Thu, Nov 19, 2009 at 2:08 PM, Paul Foote <pfoote@gmail.com> wrote:
> >
> >     All that's left for them to complete the "404" strategy is to   
> > put transparent proxies in place that redirect on real 404's :P
> >
> 
> Telefonica is doing that here, and not onlw for www. hostnames...
> 
> # nmap nonexist.merit.edu.

It would be intersting to see what would happen if MERIT issued a
cease and decist request for using their domain name without
permission.
 
> Starting Nmap 4.68 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2009-11-19 23:44 ARST
> Interesting ports on smartbrowsebr-mx.terra.com (208.70.188.15):
> Not shown: 1712 filtered ports
> PORT     STATE SERVICE
> 80/tcp   open  http
> 554/tcp  open  rtsp
> 1755/tcp open  wms
> 
> Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 28.324 seconds
> 
> Cheers,
>         Eduardo.-
> 
> 
> -- 
> Eduardo A. Suarez
> Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
> Universidad Nacional de La Plata
> 
> ----------------------------------------------------------------
> This message was sent using IMP, the Internet Messaging Program.
> 
> 
-- 
Mark Andrews, ISC
1 Seymour St., Dundas Valley, NSW 2117, Australia
PHONE: +61 2 9871 4742                 INTERNET: marka@isc.org





Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.