North American Network Operators Group
Date Prev | Date Next |
Date Index |
Thread Index |
Author Index |
Historical
Re: 209.68.1.140 (209.68.1.0 /24) blocked by bellsouth.net for SMTP
- From: Suresh Ramasubramanian
- Date: Tue Sep 20 22:21:50 2005
- Domainkey-signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=beta; d=gmail.com; h=received:message-id:date:from:reply-to:to:subject:cc:in-reply-to:mime-version:content-type:content-transfer-encoding:content-disposition:references; b=ptXiIUmRmJhUpGDchGaXW+Z0M2H/3wAp9cC83ApsW47WiDvlxMZt/wgRREHG6yp2qfovxrnZaHjKCiurv5ygsGgg8MEcropxiGpr3B64vaxr5mKIPew5BBsJKz4FF4cXmtVtnbZVymfH9MK617UO+0UC5YUOnOdn9x6DNq6P/h0=
On 20/09/05, Alan Spicer <a_spicer@bellsouth.net> wrote:
> * In addition, Pair networks says the following:In our experiences, most
> blocks occur from users forwarding their domain email to an outside address
> such as Bellsouth. Since a customer forwards all mail, legitimate and spam,
> the ISP will see the spam deliveries and block the offending IP, our server.
They really ought to filter inbound email more then. And/or
(preferably and) route .forward traffic out through a separate IP.
What the pair guy describes has bitten us too - and we've been
figuring out various ways to keep a tight lid on it, but isolating
.forward traffic is the first step.
--
Suresh Ramasubramanian (ops.lists@gmail.com)
|