Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

Re: Yahoo! -- A "Phisher-friendly" hosting domain?

  • From: Alex Rubenstein
  • Date: Wed Aug 31 11:20:25 2005



Shouldn't someone be watching these, though?

root@sodium:~# whois paypal.com

[...]

PAYPAL.COM.SV04.COM
PAYPAL.COM.LIMITSPEED.NET
PAYPAL.COM


While I agree in concept that this is not how the internet runs, and I am not proposing a domain name police force be instituted, it seems to me that things like this are easily caught. Not to mention, the purpose of them is clear.



On Wed, 31 Aug 2005, Fergie (Paul Ferguson) wrote:

That's good, however, I regret that the issue had to be
aired here because it didn't get attention it deserved
through "proper channels" and elsewhere...

- ferg


-- Florian Weimer <fw@deneb.enyo.de> wrote:

But it caught my eye that SOMEBODY at Yahoo! ought to be reviewing
domain names like "bankofthewestupdate.com"
Registrars should as well, but this is not the way the Internet works.
Sometimes, this is a good thing, sometimes, it's not.

It seems that the A RR has been pulled around 2005-08-30 21:00 UTC, so
this particular issue has already been resolved.

--
"Fergie", a.k.a. Paul Ferguson
Engineering Architecture for the Internet
fergdawg@netzero.net or fergdawg@sbcglobal.net
ferg's tech blog: http://fergdawg.blogspot.com/

--
Alex Rubenstein, AR97, K2AHR, alex@nac.net, latency, Al Reuben
Net Access Corporation, 800-NET-ME-36, http://www.nac.net





Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.