Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

Re: panix.com hijacked

  • From: Mark Jeftovic
  • Date: Sat Jan 15 22:38:45 2005


On Sat, 15 Jan 2005, Chris Adams wrote:

>
> Once upon a time, Steven M. Bellovin <smb@cs.columbia.edu> said:
> > panix.com has apparently been hijacked.  It's now associated with a
> > different registrar -- melbourneit instead of dotster -- and a
> > different owner.  Can anyone suggest appropriate people to contact to
> > try to get this straightened out?
>
> Good luck dealing with melbourneit.com; that's the place where domains
> go to die.
>

I originally replied offlist, but...

Under the new ICANN transfer policy, this will most likely be
reversed if its shown to be an improper transfer. You need to
bring Dotster into this and they need to invoke a transfer dispute
under the new policy.

MelbourneIT needs to demonstrate a proper FOA (Form of Authorization)
to have initiated the transfer and if its found to be invalid the
domain will be re-instated and Melbourne-IT fined.

-mark

-- 
Mark Jeftovic <markjr@easydns.com>
Co-founder, easyDNS Technologies Inc.
ph. +1-(416)-535-8672 ext 225
fx. +1-(416)-535-0237




Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.