Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

Re: Spam handling

  • From: joe
  • Date: Thu Apr 29 00:21:31 2004

Martin,

> Because everyone is really meant to also own a Hotmail, AOL, Yahoo, gmail,
or some such "reputable" email service that you use for instances like this.
Lol. ok so
    Yes an entry like
aol.com         smtp:[smtp.comcast.net]
cs.com          smtp:[smtp.comcast.net]
in mailertable is fine, but why advertise such a bogus means of a fix?
As well, I'm not hotmail nor AOL so little guys are mucked up than.
>
> OR... set your outbound SMTP server to your upstream's so that at least
this message goes out correctly.  In your case (for 24.61.68.177) you would
use Comcast's SMTP name, whatever that is.
>
And perhaps you mean ip-66-xx.xxx.xx.dsl.bos.megapath.net (66.xx.xx.xx) as
well..
None the less, this doesn't support the response of "email xxx@xx.com to
request removal"
being 550 access denied. Perhaps this is some sort of spam deterant?

Cheers Martin, Used to be out there in PacBell land too, 5 IPs  via DSL.
Ahh, Luck guy.
> Martin

-Joe





Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.