North American Network Operators Group
Date Prev | Date Next |
Date Index |
Thread Index |
Author Index |
Historical
RE: Virus emails from nanog mail list
- From: Dan Lockwood
- Date: Tue Aug 19 13:04:26 2003
I have not seen the NANOG email problem, but have received several tens
of thousans of SPAM messages that claim to be from
'webmaster@apnic.net'. The originating address in the messages is
66.218.66.70. As David pointed out, this may or may not be correct.
Dan
-----Original Message-----
From: David Diaz [mailto:techlist@smoton.net]
Sent: Tuesday, August 19, 2003 9:43
To: nanog@merit.edu
Subject: Virus emails from nanog mail list
Spam may be off topic but in this case relevant. Has anyone else
noticed bounced emails that appear to have origionated from their
nanog email boxes and contain viruses?
Obviously some bot has gone threw the nanog list and is now forging
headers such that they appear to come from those addresses, and they
are attaching viruses.
The IP address (which may or may not be accurate) appears to be
[195.157.87.253].
Has anyone else noticed this recently?
Dave
--
David Diaz
dave@smoton.net [Email]
pagedave@smoton.net [Pager]
www.smoton.net
Smotons (Smart Photons) trump dumb photons
|