North American Network Operators Group
Date Prev | Date Next |
Date Index |
Thread Index |
Author Index |
Historical
RE: Blocked by msn.com MX, contact for MSN.COM postmaster ?
- From: Mark Segal
- Date: Wed Jan 29 17:55:33 2003
Have you tried abuse@msn.com.. maybe abuse@hotmail.com (they could forward
you).. They are quite responsive (hotmail, abuse), at least from a hotmail
address :).
mark
--
Mark Segal
Director, Data Services
Futureway Communications Inc.
Tel: (905)326-1570
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Mark E. Mallett [mailto:mem@mv.mv.com]
> Sent: January 29, 2003 5:44 PM
> To: Miquel van Smoorenburg
> Cc: nanog@merit.edu
> Subject: Re: Blocked by msn.com MX, contact for MSN.COM postmaster ?
>
>
>
> On Tue, Jan 28, 2003 at 11:49:16AM +0000, Miquel van
> Smoorenburg wrote:
> >
> > I found out that our outgoing SMTP servers have been blocked by the
> > msn.com MXes. In a nasty way, too -- no SMTP error, the TCP
> connection
> > is simply closed by them immidiately after establishing it.
> We're not
> > listed on any RBL/DNSBL and have an active abuse desk.
> >
> > I mailed postmaster@msn.com, msnhst@msn.com, noc@microsoft.com, but
> > didn't get a reply from any of them. Does anyone here know
> who to talk
> > to ?
>
> I'd be interested in knowing what you find out. We observed
> the same thing a while ago from one of our mail servers-- but
> just one. Connection drops immediately, no clue given as to
> why. However, from another mail server just a few IP numbers
> away (in the same /24), the connection goes through just
> fine. The workaround was obviously to configure the first
> mail server to relay mail for msn.com via the second one, and
> to try to get Microsoft to tell us what was up. No luck on
> that last front though.
>
> -mm-
>
|