Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

RE: RoadRunner abuse?

  • From: Vivien M.
  • Date: Fri May 03 17:14:38 2002

> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-nanog@merit.edu [mailto:owner-nanog@merit.edu] On 
> Behalf Of Hermann Wecke
> Sent: May 3, 2002 4:44 PM
> To: nanog@nanog.org
> Cc: Mitch Halmu
> Subject: Re: RoadRunner abuse?
> 
> 
> 
> On Fri, 3 May 2002, Mitch Halmu wrote:
> 
> > Good luck. Roadrunner is a (presumed paying) MAPS customer:
> >
> >    ----- Transcript of session follows -----
> > ... while talking to vamx01.mgw.rr.com.:
> > >>> MAIL From:<root@netside.net>
> > <<< 553 5.3.0 Mail from 205.159.140.2 rejected,see 
> > http://mail-abuse.org/rbl/enduser.html
> > 501 abuse@rr.com,postmaster@rr.com... Data format error
> 
> 205.159.140.2 is listed as an open-relay.
> 
>http://www.mail-abuse.org/cgi-bin/lookup?205.159.140.2
>
>To see this IP removed, check
http://work-rss.mail-abuse.org/rss/howtofix.html
>(I'm seeing it is only listed at RSS and relays.osirusoft.com, so I'm
assuming it is a closed relay - isn't it?)

Stop. Think. Read NANOG archives. :)

Mr. Halmu's open relay and very conscious decision to operate such a
thing have been discussed at length before, believe me. Take a look at
the archives around
http://www.merit.edu/mail.archives/nanog/2001-05/threads.html#01127

Vivien
-- 
Vivien M.
vivienm@dyndns.org
Assistant System Administrator
Dynamic DNS Network Services
http://www.dyndns.org/ 





Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.