Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

RE: anybody else been spammed by "no-ip.com" yet?

  • From: Vivien M.
  • Date: Fri May 03 17:11:06 2002

> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-nanog@merit.edu [mailto:owner-nanog@merit.edu] On 
> Behalf Of Paul Vixie
> Sent: May 3, 2002 11:47 AM
> To: nanog@merit.edu
> Subject: anybody else been spammed by "no-ip.com" yet?
> 
> 
> 
> as a coauthor of rfc2136, my curiousity is always
> piqued when spammers use the technology.  can i get
> private forwards of other similar messages?  (see
> below.)
> 
> (and yes, i'll also be in touch with level3, who
> serves 166.90.15.236, from whence this message came.)
> 
> (time was, anyone who could use postfix and php would
> also know better than to spam, or at least, to spam *me*. 
> <grump> <grumble>.)

[snip]

I hate to sound like the big idiot here, but what exactly in the email
you received indicates no-ip.com spammed? It looks to me like you just
have some secret "admirer" who thought you wanted a no-ip.com account,
and no-ip.com emailed you to confirm that you do want the account.

Vivien

Random disclaimer: Yes, we're a competitor of no-ip.com's... And yes, we
used to send similar emails to people signing up for an account,
although nowadays instead of sending them an initial password we send a
confirm URL instead.

-- 
Vivien M.
vivienm@dyndns.org
Assistant System Administrator
Dynamic DNS Network Services
http://www.dyndns.org/ 





Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.