Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

Digital Island sponsors DoS attempt?

  • From: Christopher J. Wolff
  • Date: Thu Oct 25 19:07:22 2001

Hello friends,

My IDS was just tripped over 300 times.  The decoded packet says:

mailto:abuse@digisle.com for questions
This ICMP ECHO REQUEST/REPLY is part of the real-time network monitoring
performed by Digital Island Inc.  It is not an attack.  If you have
questions please contact
abuse@digisle.com...........................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
............................................................................
...............................................

We are not on their network or in any way affiliated with Digital Island,
I'm just curious if anyone else has seen this anomaly, if it is legit, or if
it is a real attack being spoofed from Digital Island...no response from
abuse@digisle.com yet.

Regards,
Christopher J. Wolff, VP, CIO
Broadband Laboratories, Inc.
http://www.bblabs.com
email:chris@bblabs.com
phone:520.622.4338 x234





Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.