Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

NSF-paid ideal

  • From: Jim Fleming
  • Date: Sat Feb 22 17:59:45 1997
  • Encoding: 526 TEXT

On Saturday, February 22, 1997 9:24 AM, Kim Culhan[SMTP:kimc@w8hd.org] wrote:
@ 
<snip>

@ Jim, please explain your NSF-paid ideal.
@ 

I assume you mean this "NSF-paid" ideal...?

If you want to assemble a real "Blue Ribbon Panel" that
represents the real Internet society, I suggest that you start
with some or all of the people below. These are the people who
control the popular Root Name Servers and are the people
mandated by the people to "do the right thing". They are also
some of the people supported by U.S. taxpayers dollars to
make sure that federal government resources such as the
Root Name Servers are used properly according to the laws
in the United States.

We are rapidly approaching March 1, 1997. There will be one
year left on the InterNIC agreements developed by the National
Science Foundation (NSF). Everyone needs to work together
to make sure that those agreements remain stable for one
more year and that plans are made to ensure that any transitions
are smooth and do not impact the stability of the Internet.

The current ARIN attempts to fragment the InterNIC are not in
the best interest of the Internet. Instead, the InterNIC should
be kept in tact and used as an educational model to help
create additional "NICs" across the United States to spread
the wealth and jobs around and to ensure better stability
via distributed management.

I have suggested that the NSF use the $12.6 million to
help launch 49 additional NICs, one in each state except for
Virginia. By March of 1998, hopefully enough NICs will be
operational to allow the current InterNIC as we know it to
take its place with the others as a state NIC controlled by
the people of Virginia.

Many people have worked hard over the past couple of years
to demonstrate that cooperating and competing regional NICs
can coexist. The technology is well understood and with the
stewardship of some or all of the people below, I am confident
that the original NSF plan to expand the NICs can be
accomplished by the time the NSF agreements with AT&T
and Network Solutions, Inc. end.

In order to get the regional NICs up to speed, I suggest that
states follow the NSF InterNIC model and "ousource" the
work to regional companies that have demonstrated their
expertise in not only Internet technology but also the emerging
registry industry. I suggest that these companies work with
their state governments to gain support to work with the
elected officials below to get things moving. There is only
one year left. Time is getting short.

Rather than have anyone rush into dismantling the InterNIC
why not join together to clone the InterNIC, not once, but
at least 49 times to help the Internet grow. Once this is
demonstrated, then obviously the lessons learned will
help fuel international growth. No one will be left out.

If other countries want to join in this effort, I suggest that
they follow a similar plan. Think global but start local. It
is the only way that you will make any real progress. I am
sure that many people in the U.S. will be glad to lend a
hand to get things moving. Hopefully, there will be many
examples and more educational programs developed as
these efforts unfold.

There is no reason why anyone should be left out but
there is also no reason why people should hold back
waiting for people to catch up. With the clock ticking
and $12.6 million in the bank, it is time to duplicate
the prototype in Virginia in every state and each country.

It is not time to dismantle the prototype. If that occurs
then much of the knowledge will be lost and the money
the U.S. taxpayers spent to build the InterNIC will be
wasted. Again, the following people have the mandate
of the people to make sure that money and the efforts
are not wasted. They work daily to maximize the return
on the taxpayer's investment. Let them know that you
want to work with them to make sure you also benefit

from those efforts in your states and countries.

Thank you for your time...

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

President Bill Clinton and Vice President Al Gore
	http://www.whitehouse.gov

National Science Board (NSB)
	http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/nsb.htm
	The NSB has dual responsibilities as: 
		. National science policy advisor to the President
			and the Congress
		. Governing body for the National Science Foundation

	Chairman NSB - Dr. Richard N. Zare, Stanford University
		rnz@chemistry.stanford.edu 
		http://www-leland.stanford.edu/group/Zarelab/

	Office of Inspector General of the NSF (also links to Congress)
		http://www.nsf.gov/oig/oig.htm
		Inspector General - Linda G. Sundro - lsundro@nsf.gov
			Investigator - Clara Kuehn - ckuehn@nsf.gov
			
National Science Foundation
	Neal Lane - nlane@nsf.gov
	<http://www.nsf.gov/od/lpa/forum/lane/quscipol.htm>
		Juris Hartmanis - jhartman@nsf.gov
		<http://www.cise.nsf.gov/oad/jhartman.html>
			George Strawn - gstrawn@nsf.gov
			<http://www.cise.nsf.gov/ncri/Georgehome.html>
				Don Mitchell - dmitchel@nsf.gov
				<http://www.cise.nsf.gov/ncri/Donhome.html>

=====

@@@@@ http://www.fnc.gov/mission.html

"The FNC supports the goals of the CIC, particularly those related
to building the national information infrastructure (NII). It also seeks
to address Federal technology transition goals and allow the
operational experiences of FNC agencies to influence future
Federal research agendas.

It also contributes funds to important Internet infrastructure organizations,
such as
	the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF),
	Internet Assigned Number Authority (IANA),
	and the Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT)."

@@@@@ http://www.fnc.gov/FNC_Members.html

Federal Networking Council

George Strawn - Chairman	GSTRAWN@NSF.GOV
Walter Wiebe - Executive Director	WWIEBE@NSF.GOV
Bruce Almich	ALMICH.BRUCE@EPAMAIL.EPA.GOV
Bruce Bottomley	BBB@ROMULUS.NCSC.MIL
Dick desJardins	DESJARDI@EOS.NASA.GOV
Frank Hartel	HARTEL@BOX-H.NIH.GOV
Craig Hunt	CHUNT@NIST.GOV
Pamela G. Kruzic	PJK@NRC.GOV
Henry Lai	HENRY.LAI@GSA.GOV
Fred Lee	FLEE@NSF.GOV
Fred Long	FLONG@SUN1.WWB.NOAA.GOV
Hilarie Orman	HORMAN@DARPA.MIL
Camillo J. Pasquariello	PASQUARC@NCR.DISA.MIL
Alexis Poliakoff	ALEX_POLIAKOFF@ED.GOV
Ken Roko	KROKO@USAID.GOV
Elaine Stout	ESTOUT@USGS.GOV

@@@@@  http://www.fnc.gov/FNCAC.html

The Federal Networking Council Advisory Committee (FNCAC) is chartered by
the National Science Foundation to provide the FNC with technical, tactical,
and strategic advice from the constituencies involved in the NREN Program..."

FNCAC Members

Dr. Sidney Karin	KARIN@SDSC.EDU
Dr. George Brandenburg	BRANDENBURG@HUHEPL.HARVARD.EDU
Dr. Henriette Avram	AVRAM@IVORY.EDUCOM.EDU
Mr. Jim Beall, Jr.	BEALL@VNET.IBM.COM
Mr. Alan Blatecky	ALANB@MCNC.ORG
Mr. Matt Blaze	MAB@RESEARCH.ATT.COM
Ms. Susan Estrada	SESTRADA@ALDEA.COM
Dr. Kenneth S. Flamm	FLAMM@BROOK.EDU
Dr. John Gage	JOHN.GAGE@ENG.SUN.COM
Ms. Carol Henderson	CCH@ALAWASH.ORG
Dr. Kenneth J. Klingenstein	KJK@SPOT.COLORADO.EDU
Mr. Richard Liebhaber	2714743@MCIMAIL.COM
Mr. Stu Loken	SCLOKEN@LBL.GOV
Dr. Paul Mockapetris	PVM@SOFTWARE.COM
Mr. Robert G. Moskowitz	RGM3@IS.CHRYSLER.COM
Dr. Ike Nassi	NASSI@SCRUZNET.COM
Mr. Carl Edward Oliver	OLIVERCE@ORNL.GOV
Dr. Stewart Personick	SDP@BELLCORE.COM
Mr. Thomas C. Rindfleisch	THOMAS_RINDFLEISCH@MEDMAIL.STANFORD.EDU.
Mr. Mike Roberts	ROBERTS@EDUCOM.EDU
Ms. Connie D. Stout	CSTOUT@TENET.EDU
Brigadier General Harold Thompson	THOMPSON@ICN.STATE.IA.US
Dr. Stephen Wolff	SWOLFF@CISCO.COM

@@@@@


U.S. Senate e-mail addresses

Alabama - Shelby, Richard C. (R) - senator@shelby.senate.gov
Alaska - Stevens, Ted (R) - senator_stevens@stevens.senate.gov
Arizona - Kyl, Jon (R) - info@kyl.senate.gov
Arizona - McCain, John (R) - senator_mccain@mccain.senate.gov
Arkansas - Bumpers, Dale (D) - senator@bumpers.senate.gov
Arkansas - Hutchinson, Tim (D) - senator.hutchinson@hutchinson.senate.gov
California - Boxer, Barbara (D) - senator@boxer.senate.gov
California - Feinstein, Dianne (D) - senator@feinstein.senate.gov
Connecticut - Dodd, Christopher J. (D) - sen_dodd@dodd.senate.gov
Connecticut - Lieberman, Joseph I. (D) - senator_lieberman@lieberman.senate.gov
Delaware - Biden, Joseph R., Jr. (D) - senator@biden.senate.gov
Florida - Graham, Bob (D) - bob_graham@graham.senate.gov
Georgia - Coverdell, Paul (R) - senator_coverdell@coverdell.senate.gov
Hawaii - Inouye, Daniel K. (D) - senator@inouye.senate.gov
Idaho - Craig, Larry E. (R) - larry_craig@craig.senate.gov
Idaho - Kempthorne, Dirk (R) - dirk_kempthorne@kempthorne.senate.gov
Illinois - Moseley-Braun, Carol (D) - senator@moseley-braun.senate.gov
Iowa - Grassley, Chuck (R) - chuck_grassley@grassley.senate.gov
Iowa - Harkin, Tom (D) - tom_harkin@harkin.senate.gov
Kansas - Brownback, Sam (R) - sam_brownback@brownback.senate.gov
Kentucky - Ford, Wendell H. (D) - wendell_ford@ford.senate.gov
Kentucky - McConnell, Mitch (R) - senator@mcconnell.senate.gov
Louisiana - Breaux, John B. (D) - senator@breaux.senate.gov
Maine - Collins, Susan (R) - senator@collins.senate.gov
Maine - Snowe, Olympia J. (R) - olympia@snowe.senate.gov
Maryland - Mikulski, Barbara A. (D) - senator@mikulski.senate.gov
Maryland - Sarbanes, Paul S. (D) - senator@sarbanes.senate.gov
Massachusetts - Kennedy, Edward M. (D) - senator@kennedy.senate.gov
Massachusetts - Kerry, John F. (D) - john_kerry@kerry.senate.gov
Michigan - Abraham, Spencer (R) - michigan@abraham.senate.gov
Michigan - Levin, Carl (D) senator@levin.senate.gov
Minnesota - Grams, Rod (R) - mail_grams@grams.senate.gov
Minnesota - Wellstone, Paul D. (D) - senator@wellstone.senate.gov
Mississippi - Cochran, Thad (R) - senator@cochran.senate.gov
Missouri - Ashcroft, John (R) - john_ashcroft@ashcroft.senate.gov
Missouri - Bond, Christopher S. (R) - kit_bond@bond.senate.gov
Montana - Baucus, Max (D) - max@baucus.senate.gov
Montana - Burns, Conrad R. (R) - conrad_burns@burns.senate.gov
Nebraska - Kerrey, J. Robert (D) - bob@kerrey.senate.gov
Nevada - Bryan, Richard H. (D) - senator@bryan.senate.gov
Nevada - Reid, Harry (D) - senator_reid@reid.senate.gov
New Hampshire - Gregg, Judd (R) - mailbox@gregg.senate.gov
New Hampshire - Smith, Bob (R) opinion@smith.senate.gov
New Jersey - Lautenberg, Frank R. (D) - frank_lautenberg@lautenberg.senate.gov
New Mexico - Bingaman, Jeff (D) - senator_bingaman@bingaman.senate.gov
New Mexico - Domenici, Pete V. (R) - senator_domenici@domenici.senate.gov
New York - D'Amato, Alfonse M. (R) - senator_al@damato.senate.gov
New York - Moynihan, Daniel Patrick (D) - senator@dpm.senate.gov
North Carolina - Faircloth, Lauch (R) - senator@faircloth.senate.gov
North Carolina - Helms, Jesse (R) - jesse_helms@helms.senate.gov
North Dakota - Dorgan, Byron L. (D) - senator@dorgan.senate.gov
Ohio - DeWine, Mike (R) - senator_dewine@dewine.senate.gov
Oklahoma - Nickles, Don (R) - senator@nickles.senate.gov
Oregon - Wyden, Ron (D) - senator@wyden.senate.gov
Pennsylvania - Santorum, Rick (R) - senator@santorum.senate.gov
Pennsylvania - Specter, Arlen (R) - senator_specter@specter.senate.gov
Rhode Island - Chafee, John H. (R) - senator_chafee@chafee.senate.gov
South Carolina - Hollings, Ernest F. (D) - senator@hollings.senate.gov
South Carolina - Thurmond, Strom (R) - senator@thurmond.senate.gov
South Dakota - Daschle, Thomas A. (D) - tom_daschle@daschle.senate.gov
Tennessee - Frist, William H. (R) - senator_frist@frist.senate.gov
Tennessee - Thompson, Fred (R) - senator_thompson@thompson.senate.gov
Texas - Hutchison, Kay Bailey (R) - senator@hutchison.senate.gov
Utah - Bennett, Robert F. (R) - senator@bennett.senate.gov
Utah - Hatch, Orrin G. (R) - senator_hatch@hatch.senate.gov
Vermont - Jeffords, James M. (R) - vermont@jeffords.senate.gov
Vermont - Leahy, Patrick J. (D) - senator_leahy@leahy.senate.gov
Virginia - Robb, Charles S. (D) senator@robb.senate.gov
Virginia - Warner, John W. (R) - senator@warner.senate.gov
Washington - Gorton, Slade (R) - senator_gorton@gorton.senate.gov
Washington - Murray, Patty (D) - senator_murray@murray.senate.gov
West Virginia - Byrd, Robert C. (D) - senator_byrd@byrd.senate.gov
West Virginia - Rockefeller, John D., IV (D) - senator@rockefeller.senate.gov
Wisconsin - Feingold, Russell D. (D) - senator@feingold.senate.gov
Wisconsin - Kohl, Herb (D) - nator_kohl@kohl.senate.gov
Wyoming - Enzi, Mike (R) - senator@enzi.senate.gov
Wyoming - Thomas, Craig (R) - craig@thomas.senate.gov

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

U.S. GOVERNMENT (NSF, etc.)
	Contact:
	Dr. George Strawn
	Division Director
	Division of Networking and Communication
		Research and Infrastructure
	National Science Foundation
	4201 Wilson Boulevard, Room 1175
	Arlington, VA 22230
	Phone: (703) 306-1950
	Fax: (703) 306-0621
	Email: gstrawn@nsf.gov
	http://www.cise.nsf.gov/ncri/Georgehome.html

	NS.INTERNIC.NET 198.41.0.4
	Network Solutions, Inc. (NS45-HST)

	AOS.ARL.ARMY.MIL 128.63.2.53
	Army Research Laboratory (BRL-AOS)
	
	NS.NASA.GOV 192.203.230.10
	Moffett Field (NS-NASA)
   
	NS.NIC.DDN.MIL 192.112.36.4
	GSI (DIIS-NS)

STATE UNIVERSITIES

	NS1.ISI.EDU 128.9.0.107
	University of Southern California (ISI2)
	Contact:
		Dr. Stephen B. Sample
		President
		ADM 110
		University of Southern California
		University Park, mc-0012
		Los Angeles, CA 90089-0012
		(213) 740-2111
		http://www.usc.edu/cgi-bin/uscinfo/directory-2?STAF+6630
		http://www.usc.edu/People/snailmail.html

	TERP.UMD.EDU 128.8.10.90
	University of Maryland (UMD-TERP)
	Contact:
		Dr. William E. Kirwan
		President, University of Maryland at College Park
		<http://www.inform.umd.edu:8080/CampusInfo/Departments/PRES/>
		<http://inform.umd.edu/kirwan-biography.html>
		Legal Affairs
			Dr. J. Terrance Roach <mailto: troach@deans.umd.edu>

U.S. PRIVATE INDUSTRY & INDIVIDUALS

	C.PSI.NET 192.33.4.12
	Performance Systems International Inc. (C-NYSER)
	Contact:
		PSINet, Inc (PSI-NET-DOM)
		510 Huntmar Park Drive
		Herndon, VA 22070
		USA  
       
	NS.ISC.ORG 192.5.5.241
	Internet Software Consortium (ISC)
	Contact:
		Internet Software Consortium (ISC2-DOM)
		c/o UUNET Communications Services
		3110 Fairview Park Drive
		Suite 570
		Falls Church, VA 22042
		Domain Name: ISC.ORG       

SWEDEN
	Contact: (See below)
	
	NIC.NORDU.NET 192.36.148.17
	[No name] (NORDU)


@@@@@@


SERVER NS.ISC.ORG 192.5.5.241
Internet Software Consortium (ISC)

   Hostname: F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 192.5.5.241
   System: DEC ALPHA running BIND 4.9.5

   Host Administrator:
      Vixie, Paul  (PV15)  paul@VIX.COM
      +1 415 747 0204

   Domain Server

   Record last updated on 09-Oct-96.


-------
SERVER NS.INTERNIC.NET 198.41.0.4
Network Solutions, Inc. (NS45-HST)
   505 Huntmar Park Drive
   Herndon, VA 22070

   Hostname: A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 198.41.0.4
   System: SUN running SUNOS

   Host Administrator:
      Kosters, Mark A.  (MAK21)  markk@NETSOL.COM
      (703) 742-4795 (FAX) (703) 742-4811

   Record last updated on 31-Aug-95.


-------
SERVER NS1.ISI.EDU 128.9.0.107
University of Southern California (ISI2)
   Information Sciences Institute
   4676 Admiralty Way
   Marina del Rey, CA 90292

   Hostname: B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 128.9.0.107
   System: ? running ?

   Host Administrator:
      Koda, Jim  (JK7)  koda@ISI.EDU
      310) 822-1511

   Record last updated on 12-Aug-95.


-------
SERVER TERP.UMD.EDU 128.8.10.90
University of Maryland (UMD-TERP)
   Computer Science Center
   College Park, MD 20742

   Hostname: D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 128.8.10.90
   System: MICROVAX-II running UNIX

   Coordinator:
      Sneeringer, Gerry  (GS307)  sneeri@NI.UMD.EDU
      (301) 405-2996

   domain server

   Record last updated on 12-Aug-95.


-------
SERVER AOS.ARL.ARMY.MIL 128.63.2.53
Army Research Laboratory (BRL-AOS)
   Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD  21005-5066

   Hostname: H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 128.63.2.53
   System: SUN running UNIX

   Host Administrator:
      Fielding, James L.  (JLF)  jamesf@ARL.MIL
      (410)278-8929 (DSN) 298-8929 (410)278-6664 (FAX) (410)278-5077

   domain server

   Record last updated on 17-Aug-95.


-------
SERVER C.PSI.NET 192.33.4.12
Performance Systems International Inc. (C-NYSER)

   Hostname: C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 192.33.4.12
   System: SUN running UNIX

   Coordinator:
      Administration, PSINet Domain  (PDA4)  psinet-domain-admin@PSI.COM
      (703) 904-4100

   domain server

   Record last updated on 17-Apr-96.


-------
SERVER NIC.NORDU.NET 192.36.148.17
[No name] (NORDU)

   Hostname: I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 192.36.148.17
   System: SUN-4/60 running UNIX

   Coordinator:
      Rendahl, Matti [President]  (MR164)  matti@COMEDIA.SE
      +46 8 612 49 26 +46 70 533 13 56 (FAX) +46 8 612 49 36

   Record last updated on 24-Aug-95.


-------
SERVER NS.NASA.GOV 192.203.230.10
Moffett Field (NS-NASA)
   NASA Ames Research Center, Mail Stop 233-8
   Moffett Field, CA 94035-1000
   USA

   Hostname: E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 192.203.230.10
   System: SUN running SUNOS

   Host Administrator, Coordinator:
      Schlapfer, Marcel  (MS4039)  marcel@NSIPO.NASA.GOV
      1-415-604-0955 (FAX) 1-415-604-0036

   domain server

   Record last updated on 25-Oct-96.


-------
SERVER NS.NIC.DDN.MIL 192.112.36.4
GSI (DIIS-NS)
   Suite 200
   14200 Park Meadow Dr.
   Chantilly, VA 22021

   Hostname: G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET
   Address: 192.112.36.4
   System: SUN running UNIX

   Coordinator:
      McCollum, Robert W.  (RM584)  bobm@NIC.DDN.MIL
      (703) 802-8476 (FAX) (703) 802-8376

   Root Domain Server

   Record last updated on 18-Aug-95.


-------


--
Jim Fleming
Unir Corporation

e-mail:
JimFleming@unety.net
JimFleming@unety.s0.g0 (EDNS/IPv8)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -




Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.