Merit Network
Can't find what you're looking for? Search the Mail Archives.
  About Merit   Services   Network   Resources & Support   Network Research   News   Events   Home

Discussion Communities: Merit Network Email List Archives

North American Network Operators Group

Date Prev | Date Next | Date Index | Thread Index | Author Index | Historical

RE: Allocation of IP Addresses

  • From: Jim Fleming
  • Date: Thu Mar 14 03:25:34 1996

Here are some people that might be interested in these issues...

Jim Fleming
Naperville, IL

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@


 9-14-95
                       CONGRESSIONAL E-MAIL ADDRESSES

                               104th Congress
                                  1995/96

                             United States Senate

   ----------------------------------------------------------------------

     ST  PT   Name                 E-Mail Address

   ----------------------------------------------------------------------

     AR   D   Bumpers, Dale        senator@bumpers.senate.gov

     AZ   R   Kyl, Jon             info@kyl.senate.gov
     AZ   R   McCain, John         Senator_McCain@mccain.senate.gov

     CA   D   Boxer, Barbara       senator@boxer.senate.gov
     CA   D   Feinstein, Dianne    senator@feinstein.senate.gov

     CO   R   Brown, Hank          senator_brown@brown.senate.gov

     CT   D   Dodd, Christopher    sen_dodd@dodd.senate.gov
     CT   D   Lieberman, Joseph    senator_lieberman@lieberman.senate.gov

     DE   D   Biden, Joe           joe_biden@biden.senate.gov

     FL   D   Graham, B
ob          bob_graham@graham.senate.gov

     GA   R   Coverdell, Paul      senator_coverdell@coverdell.senate.gov

     IA   D   Harkin, Tom          tom_harkin@harkin.senate.gov
     IA   R   Grassley, Charles    chuck_grassley@grassley.senate.gov

     ID   R   Craig, Larry         larry_craig@craig.senate.gov
     ID   R   Kempthorne, Dirk     dirk_kempthorne@kempthorne.senate.gov

     IL   D   Simon, Paul          senator@simon.senate.gov
     IL   D   Moseley-Braun,Carol  senator@moseley-braun.senate.gov

     IN   R   Lugar, Richard       lugar@iquest.net

     KY   D   Ford, Wendell        wendell_ford@ford.senate.gov

     LA   D   Breaux, John         senator@breaux.senate.gov
     LA   D   Johnston, J.Bennett  senator@johnston.senate.gov

     MA   D   Kennedy, Ted         senator@kennedy.senate.gov
     MA   D   Kerry, John          john_kerry@kerry.senate.gov

     MD   D   Mikulski, Barbara    senator@mikulski.senate.gov
     MD   D   Sarbanes, Paul       senator@sarbanes.senate.gov

     ME  
 R   Cohen, William       billcohen@cohen.senate.gov

     MI   D   Levin, Carl          senator@levin.senate.gov

     MN   R   Grams, Rod           mail_grams@grams.senate.gov
     MN   D   Wellstone, Paul      senator@wellstone.senate.gov

     MO   R   Ashcroft, John       john_ashcroft@ashcroft.senate.gov

     MS   R   Cochran, Thad        senator@cochran.senate.gov

     MT   D   Baucus, Max          max@baucus.senate.gov
     MT   R   Burns, Conrad        conrad_burns@burns.senate.gov

     ND   D   Dorgan, Byron        senator@dorgan.senate.gov

     NE   D   Kerrey, Bob          bob@kerrey.senate.gov

     NH   R   Gregg, Judd          mailbox@gregg.senate.gov
     NH   R   Smith, Bob           opinion@smith.senate.gov

     NJ   D   Bradley, Bill        senator@bradley.senate.gov

     NM   D   Bingaman, Jeff       Senator_Bingaman@bingaman.senate.gov
     NM   R   Domenici, Pete       senator_domenici@domenici.senate.gov

     NV   D   Reid, Harry          senator_reid@reid.senate.gov

     OH   R
   Dewine, Michael      senator_dewine@dewine.senate.gov

     OK   R   Nickles, Don         nickles@rpc.senate.gov

     RI   R   Chafee, John         senator_chafee@chafee.senate.gov

     SC   D   Hollings, Ernest     senator@hollings.senate.gov

     SD   D   Daschle, Thomas      tom_daschle@daschle.senate.gov

     SD   R   Pressler, Larry      larry_pressler@pressler.senate.gov

     TN   R   Frist, Bill          senator_frist@frist.senate.gov

     TX   R   Gramm, Phil          info@gramm96.org
     TX   R   Hutchison, Kay       senator@hutchison.senate.gov

     VA   D   Robb, Charles        senator_robb@robb.senate.gov
                                    vascr@CapAccess.org
     VA   R   Warner, John         senator@warner.senate.gov

     VT   D   Leahy, Patrick       senator_leahy@leahy.senate.gov
     VT   R   Jeffords, Jim        vermont@jeffords.senate.gov

     WA   D   Murray, Patty        senator_murray@murray.senate.gov
     WA   R   Gorton, Slade        Senator_Gorton@gorton.senate.gov

   
  WI   D   Feingold, Russell    russell_feingold@feingold.senate.gov
     WI   D   Kohl, Herbert        senator_kohl@kohl.senate.gov

     WV   D   Rockefeller, Jay     senator@rockefeller.senate.gov

     WY   R   Simpson, Alan        senator@simpson.senate.gov


     Senate Gopher: gopher://ftp.senate.gov:70/
     Senate Special Committee on Aging
         mailbox@aging.senate.gov

     ____________________________________________________________________



                   United States House of Representatives

   ----------------------------------------------------------------------

     ST  DS  PT  Name                  E-Mail Address

   ----------------------------------------------------------------------

     AL   2   R  Everett, Terry        everett@hr.house.gov
     AL   5   D  Cramer, Bud           budmail@hr.house.gov
     AL   6   R  Bachus, Spencer       sbachus@hr.house.gov

     AR   4   R  Dickey, Jay           jdickey@hr.house.gov

     AZ   2   D  Pastor, Ed            edpastor@hr.hou
se.gov
     AZ   5   R  Kolbe, Jim            jimkolbe@hr.house.gov

     CA   1   R  Riggs, Frank          repriggs@hr.house.gov
     CA   3   D  Fazio, Vic            dcaucus@hr.house.gov
     CA   6   D  Woolsey, Lynn         woolsey@hr.house.gov
     CA   7   D  Miller, George        gmiller@hr.house.gov
     CA   8   D  Pelosi, Nancy         sfnancy@hr.house.gov
     CA  12   D  Lantos, Tom           talk2tom@hr.house.gov
     CA  13   D  Stark, Pete           petemail@hr.house.gov
     CA  14   D  Eshoo, Anna           annagram@hr.house.gov
     CA  15   D  Mineta, Norman        tellnorm@hr.house.gov
     CA  16   D  Lofgren, Zoe          zoegram@hr.house.gov
     CA  17   D  Farr, Sam             samfarr@hr.house.gov
     CA  19   R  Radanovich, George    george@hr.house.gov
     CA  22   R  Seastrand, Andrea     andrea22@hr.house.gov
     CA  25   R  McKeon, Howard        tellbuck@hr.house.gov
     CA  36   D  Harman, Jane          jharman@hr.house.gov
     CA  37   D  Tucker, Walter        tucker96@h
r.house.gov
     CA  42   S  Brown, George E.      housesst@hr.house.gov
     CA  48   R  Packard, Ron          rpackard@hr.house.gov

     CO   2   D  Skaggs, David         skaggs@hr.house.gov
     CO   6   R  Schaefer, Dan         schaefer@hr.house.gov

     CT   2   D  Gejdenson, Sam        bozrah@hr.house.gov
     CT   4   R  Shays, Christopher    cshays@hr.house.gov

     DE  AL   R  Castle, Michael       delaware@hr.house.gov

     FL   5   D  Thurman, Karen        kthurman@hr.house.gov
     FL   6   R  Stearns, Cliff        cstearns@hr.house.gov
     FL  12   R  Canady, Charles       canady@hr.house.gov
     FL  15   R  Weldon, Dave          fla15@hr.house.gov
     FL  20   D  Deutsch, Peter        pdeutsch@hr.house.gov
     FL  23   D  Hastings, Alcee       hastings@hr.house.gov

     GA   4   R  Linder, John          jlinder@hr.house.gov
     GA   6   R  Gingrich, Newton      georgia6@hr.house.gov
     GA   8   R  Chambliss, Saxby      saxby@hr.house.gov
     GA  10   R  Norwood, Charlies     ga10@hr
.house.gov

     GU  AL   D  Underwood, Robert     guamtodc@hr.house.gov

     IL   1   D  Rush, Bobby           brush@hr.house.gov
     IL   4   D  Gutierrez, Luis       luisg@hr.house.gov
     IL  12   D  Costello, Jerry       jfcil12@hr.house.gov
     IL  13   R  Fawell, Harris        hfawell@hr.house.gov
     IL  14   R  Hastert, Dennis       dhastert@hr.house.gov
     IL  20   D  Durbin, Richard       durbin@hr.house.gov

     IN   3   D  Roemer, Tim           troemer@hr.house.gov
     IN   8   R  Hostettler, John      johnhost@hr.house.gov
     IN   9   D  Hamilton, Lee         hamilton@hr.house.gov

     KS   1   R  Roberts, Pat          emailpat@hr.house.gov
     KS   2   R  Brownback, Sam        brownbak@hr.house.gov

     KY   1   R  Whitfield, Ed         edky01@hr.house.gov
     KY   3   D  Ward, Mike            mward2@hr.house.gov
     KY   4   R  Bunning, Jim          bunning4@hr.house.gov

     MA   6   R  Torkildsen, Peter     torkma06@hr.house.gov
     MA   9   D  Moakley, Joe          jmoakle
y@hr.house.gov

     MD   2   R  Ehrlich, Robert       rallen@lattanze.loyola.edu
     MD   3   D  Cardin, Ben           cardin@hr.house.gov

     MI   2   R  Hoekstra, Peter       tellhoek@hr.house.gov
     MI   3   R  Ehlers, Vernon        congehlr@hr.house.gov
     MI   4   R  Camp, Dave            davecamp@hr.house.gov
     MI   7   R  Smith, Nick           repsmith@hr.house.gov
     MI   8   R  Chrysler, Dick        chrysler@hr.house.gov
     MI  13   D  Rivers, Lynn          lrivers@hr.house.gov
     MI  14   D  Conyers, John         jconyers@hr.house.gov

     MN   1   R  Gutknect, Gil         gil@hr.house.gov
     MN   2   D  Minge, David          dminge@hr.house.gov
     MN   3   R  Ramstad, Jim          mn03@hr.house.gov
     MN   4   D  Vento, Bruce          vento@hr.house.gov
     MN   6   D  Luther, Bill          tellbill@hr.house.gov
     MN   7   D  Peterson, Collin      tocollin@hr.house.gov
     MN   8   D  Oberstar, James       oberstar@hr.house.gov

     MO   2   R  Talent, James         ta
lentmo@hr.house.gov
     MO   3   D  Gephardt, Richard     gephardt@hr.house.gov
     MO   8   R  Emerson, Bill         bemerson@hr.house.gov

     MS   2   D  Thompson, Bennie      ms2nd@hr.house.gov

     NC   2   R  Funderburk, David     funnc02@hr.house.gov
     NC   4   R  Heineman, Frederick   thechief@hr.house.gov
     NC   5   R  Burr, Richard         mail2nc5@hr.house.gov
     NC   7   D  Rose, Charlie         crose@hr.house.gov
     NC   9   R  Myrick, Sue           myrick@hr.house.gov
     NC  10   R  Ballenger, Cass       cassmail@hr.house.gov
     NC  11   R  Taylor, Charles       chtaylor@hr.house.gov
     NC  12   D  Watt, Mel             melmail@hr.house.gov

     ND  AL   D  Pomeroy, Earl         epomeroy@hr.house.gov

     NH   1   R  Zeliff, Bill          zeliff@hr.house.gov
     NH   2   R  Bass, Charlie         cbass@hr.house.gov

     NJ   1   D  Andrews, Robert       randrews@hr.house.gov
     NJ   7   R  Franks, Bob           franksnj@hr.house.gov
     NJ  12   R  Zimmer, Dick         
 dzimmer@hr.house.gov

     NM   3   D  Richardson, Bill      billnm03@hr.house.gov

     NY   1   R  Forbes, Michael       mpforbes@hr.house.gov
     NY   2   R  Lazio, Rick           lazio@hr.house.gov
     NY   7   D  Manton, Thomas        tmanton@hr.house.gov
     NY  13   R  Molinari, Susan       molinari@hr.house.gov
     NY  15   D  Rangel, Charles       rangel@hr.house.gov
     NY  16   D  Serrano, Jose         jserrano@hr.house.gov
     NY  17   D  Engel, Eliot          engeline@hr.house.gov
     NY  19   R  Kelly, Sue            dearsue@hr.house.gov
     NY  23   R  Boehlert, Sherwood    boehlert@hr.house.gov
     NY  27   R  Paxon, Bill           bpaxon@hr.house.gov

     OH   2   R  Portman, Rob          portmail@hr.house.gov
     OH   4   R  Oxley, Michael        oxley@hr.house.gov
     OH  10   R  Hoke, Martin          hokemail@hr.house.gov

     OK   5   R  Istook, Jr. Ernest    istook@hr.house.gov

     OR   1   D  Furse, Elizabeth      furseor1@hr.house.gov
     OR   4   D  DeFazio, Pete     
    pdefazio@hr.house.gov

     PA   7   R  Weldon, Curt          curtpa7@hr.house.gov
     PA  11   D  Kanjorski, Paul       kanjo@hr.house.gov
     PA  12   D  Murtha, John          murtha@hr.house.gov
     PA  13   R  Fox, Jon              jonfox@hr.house.gov
     PA  15   D  McHale, Paul          mchale@hr.house.gov
     PA  16   R  Walker, Robert        pa16@hr.house.gov

     SC   1   R  Sanford, Mark         sanford@hr.house.gov
     SC   5   D  Spratt, John          jspratt@hr.house.gov

     TN   5   D  Clement, Bob          clement@hr.house.gov

     TX   1   D  Chapman, Jim          jchapman@hr.house.gov
     TX   2   D  Wilson, Charles       cwilson@hr.house.gov
     TX   3   R  Johnson, Sam          samtx03@hr.house.gov
     TX   6   R  Barton, Joe           barton06@hr.house.gov
     TX  10   D  Doggett, Lloyd        doggett@hr.house.gov
     TX  24   D  Frost, Martin         frost@hr.house.gov
     TX  29   D  Green, Gene           ggreen@hr.house.gov

     UT   2   R  Waldholtz, Enid       eni
dutah@hr.house.gov
     UT   3   D  Orton, Bill           ortonut3@hr.house.gov

     VA   2   D  Pickett, Owen         opickett@hr.house.gov
     VA   6   R  Goodlatte, Bob        talk2bob@hr.house.gov
     VA   9   D  Boucher, Rick         ninthnet@hr.house.gov
     VA  11   R  Davis, Tom            tomdavis@hr.house.gov

     VT  AL   I  Sanders, Bernie       bsanders@igc.apc.org

     WA   1   R  White, Rick           repwhite@hr.house.gov
     WA   3   R  Smith, Linda          asklinda@hr.house.gov
     WA   8   R  Dunn, Jennifer        dunnwa08@hr.house.gov
     WA   9   R  Tate, Randy           rtate@hr.house.gov

     WI   1   R  Neumann, Mark         mneumann@hr.house.gov
     WI   2   R  Klug, Scott           badger02@hr.house.gov
     WI   8   R  Roth, Toby            roth08@hr.house.gov


     House Gopher: gopher://gopher:house.gov:70/1
     House Web Site: http://www.house.gov/
     House Democratic Caucus: http://www.house.gov/demcaucus/welcome.html
     House Democratic Leadership: http://www.
house.gov/democrats/
     House Republican Conference: http://www.house.gov/gop/HRCHome.html


     House Committee on Commerce
         commerce@hr.house.gov

     House Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities
       Subcommittee on Employer-Employee Relations
         slabmgnt@hr.house.gov

     House Committee on Resources
         resource@hr.house.gov

     House Committee on Science
         housesst@hr.house.gov

     House Committee on Small Business
         smbizcom@hr.house.gov

----------
From: 	Dorian Kim[SMTP:dorian@cic.net]
Sent: 	Wednesday, March 13, 1996 5:39 PM
To: 	David C. Kovar
Cc: 	Nathan Stratton; Jim Browning; 'com-priv list'; 'NANOG List'; 'NIC Registry list'
Subject: 	Re: Allocation of IP Addresses

On Wed, 13 Mar 1996, David C. Kovar wrote:

>   This strikes me as being discriminatory against the smaller ISPs. The
> customers are looking for stability and, from their point of view, being
> forced to renumber several times along with the ISP is unstable and costly.
> They'll look to ISPs who will not force them to renumber, the ones with a
> /18 or smaller already.

There always will be disadvantages of being small. This is true in every 
market.

>   Do you truly believe there is no way to avoid the forced renumbering
> problem for the smaller ISPs?

There is no way to avoid renumbering. Every other plausible proposal I've 
seen have been renumbering under a different guise.

-dorian







Discussion Communities


About Merit | Services | Network | Resources & Support | Network Research
News | Events | Contact | Site Map | Merit Network Home


Merit Network, Inc.